Head of Department: Mr A Scott

Pupils who studied general computing/IT in years 7 and 8 who are following an alternative curriculum to the mainstream will study the ECDL essential skills from years 9 to 11 this will involve automated testing of ‘IT User Fundamentals’. It will cover, using email, the internet and security for IT users.   This nationally recognised qualification provides the skills needed to enhance students’ employability and enable them to benefit from IT and online services. ECDL equips students with the skills to use a computer confidently and effectively, building on existing knowledge and motivating further learning. Achievement at level 1 requires students to:  

  • Complete well-defined routine tasks
  • Use relevant sills and procedures
  • Select and use relevant information
  • Identify whether actions have been effective
  • Work with autonomy and accountability
  • Take responsibility for completing tasks and procedures subject to direction or guidance as needed

The qualification consists of three units that have a combined value of 9 credits, which is the minimum credit value needed to achieve the level 1 qualification. Each unit is externally assessed by BCS in the form of automated tests, which offer instant results to the student. The pass mark across each of the three units is 75%, which are as follows:  

  • IT User Fundamentals (3 credits)
  • Using Email and the Internet (5 credits)
  • Security for IT Users (1 credit)

This qualification and its credits can be used to contribute towards a larger BCS IT qualification at level 2 and subsequently level 3.   An ECDL certified computer qualification will makes students more attractive to employers who need people who can contribute to achieving goals in the most efficient and productive way. This qualification provides IT skills which build confidence in using computers, improves study skills, and can ultimately help students to gain employment. That’s why it is recognised and valued by companies around the world as the benchmark in IT user competence.  

In Year 9

students will develop a range of skills including those needed for email, using the internet and IT security. Students develop their understanding of how to use the internet and email in a safe and secure way, explaining key terms and developing fundamental knowledge of computer security.

In Year 10

students will develop fundamental IT user skills, including learning key concepts relating to ICT, computers, devices and software. Students acquire essential understanding of how to use a computer in a safe and secure manner, protecting their own data as well as that of other users.

In Year 11

students continue to develop a range of fundamental IT user skills, including file management and networking. They build confidence by learning basic interaction with computers, from start-up to productive use and basic computer housekeeping.

The Oldershaw School
Valkyrie Road, Wallasey
Wirral CH45 4RJ
T: 0151 638 2800 E: Principal: Mr J Bush